Board and Management

    The SolarShare board of directors has the following members

Mr. Nicolas Fejer

BEng (Hons), BSc, MAIPM, GAICD

Chair (since August 2017) Non-Executive Director (since July 2014)

Nicolas Fejer is a business leader with extensive experience gained working for or with engineering, financial and large corporate firms. He specialises in technology and high performance teams. Nicolas runs the Enakt Group, which provides professional services in theareas of program and project management and processes.

Previously, Nicolas was a public servant, working in program management. Before his time with the Australian Government, he was a founding member of start-up Spark Solar.

Nicolas’ extensive corporate experience includes senior management positions at Siemens and Bosch, where he held positions in business development and manager of project management.


Michelle McCann has worked in solar energy since 1996. She is currently a partner at PV Lab Australia, a specialised test laboratory with a focus on quality assurance and risk evaluation for PV modules and components. Previously, she was CEO and one of the founders of Spark Solar Australia, an Australian company seed-funded by a group of German experts in the photovoltaic field with the mission of raising funds to establish a PV manufacturing company in Australia. Before this, Michelle worked in the photovoltaic group at the University of Konstanz in Germany, where she was group leader of the Novel Devices Group. She has a PhD from the Photovoltaic Group at the Australian National University. Michelle has twice held a world record for producing high efficiency solar cells.


Ms. Michelle McCann

PhD BSc (Hons)

Non-Executive Director (since July 2014)



Ms. Marea Fatseas

MBA, MA (Asian Studies), BSc (Hons), Dip. Humanities Non-Executive Director (since January 2017)
Marea has more than 30 years of public and private sector experience in Australia and internationally in strategy development, program management and advising on large-scale collaborations. She is the owner-director of consultancy company Ideas Connect. Marea is highly active in community and residents’ groups in the inner south of Canberra, including as Chair of the Inner South Canberra Community Council, and formerly as President of the Yarralumla Residents Association. She cofounded climateXchange, an online sustainability forum for Canberra and surrounding region.                                    

Carlo Botto has extensive energy industry experience gained while working for almost 40 years in the energy supply industry in Australia and USA. Carlo is the principal of Brighter Energy, which he established to provide consulting services to the energy industry. He is currently a non-executive director on the board of Hydro Tasmania and chairman of its risk management committee. He is on the ACT Government’s Renewable Energy Innovation Fund Business Advisory Board.

Previously, Carlo was a senior executive in various energy businesses in Australia and USA, and has held board positions in a number of businesses and industry associations.


Mr. Carlo Botto

BE (Electrical), GradDipEng (Asset Management) Non-Executive Director (since June 2016)


Ms. Wendy Meredith

LLB (Hons) ANU, GAICD Non-Executive Director (since October 2018)
Wendy Meredith is a commercial and corporate lawyer with more than 25 years of experience. She has acted for a wide range of companies including several start-up entities. As a lawyer, Wendy’s focus is primarily on negotiating and drafting commercial arrangements, advising on business structuring, corporate governance and on the commercialisation of intellectual property. Wendy’s depth of legal knowledge and practical approach to finding solutions has enabled her to develop a loyal client base across a wide range of industries, including logistics, information technology, education, government and engineering.      

David brings two decades of experience as a Research Analyst and top-quartile Portfolio Manager, having specialised in utilities, infrastructure and energy. In particular, he has become a leader in Australian energy networks. David has undertaken research and analysis of Renewable Energy companies, along the supply chain and across developed/developing countries. He brings technical skills in accounting, valuation, finance and investment to the SolarShare board. David is passionate about promoting Sustainable Finance and contributing to the energy transition (from fossil fuels to renewables). He has held the Chartered Financial Analyst designation since 2003, and is a Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (having completed the Company Directors Course in June 2019). David has previously volunteered with CanTeen, Wayside Chapel and the ACT Wilderness Society.


Mr. David Maywald

GAICD, CFA, B Commerce ANU (Hons) and B Economics ANU Non-Executive Director (since July 2019)


Ms. Donna McShane

  B Comm UC, MBA (Corporate Governance) University of Tasmania, member of CPA Australia, Certified Internal Auditor, Certified Risk Management Assurer. Non-Executive Director (since January 2020)    
Donna has over 20 years of experience working within the Australian Public Service in internal audit, external financial statements audit, accounting policy, and strategic planning roles. Donna has a long-held interest in corporate governance. She completed a Master of Business Administration (MBA) specialising in corporate governance through the University of Tasmania, including a thesis comparing elements of governance in the public and private sectors. Donna is currently a Senior Manager for a Canberra-based professional services firm, BellchambersBarrett where she is responsible for a range of internal audits and consulting roles for numerous clients in the public, private and not-for-profit sectors. Donna’s consulting work mirrors her interest in governance, predominately relating to financial management, fraud risk assessments and risk management.    

Lawrence is a founding member of SolarShare and leads the project team. In previous experiences Lawrence was involved in creating the ACT’s first formal jointly owned solar farm located in Kambah. He also project managed several solar installations that were, at the time, the largest in the ACT during a role at Armada Solar. Lawrence’s other business pursuits include PV Lab Australia, a solar panel quality laboratory located at the Australian National University. Lawrence also works part time at the Institute for Sustainable Futures at UTS as a Senior Research Consultant.



Mr. Lawrence McIntosh

BEng (Hons) ANU

Principle Executive Officer (since August 2012)


Ms.  Julie Chater

B Comm (Economics) UNSW, BA (Hons), La Trobe University, M Environment Law, ANU Appointed Company Secretary (since February 2017)  
Julie Chater has 20 years’ experience in international negotiations, foreign and trade policy development, and financial and strategic management in the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Before this, she worked for 12 years in corporate management for a large public corporation. Julie has been a member of the Board of Governors, Australian International School Hong Kong, vice-president of the state branch of a large public sector union. Since her retirement Julie has devoted her energy to public education on issues relating to climate change policy, conducting several climate change and renewable-energy related courses through the University of the Third Age. She is a volunteer with the Mount Taylor Park Care Group and Women’s Captain at the Federal Golf Club. In 2019 Julie was a recipient of an ACT government award to participate in the Audrey Fagan Directorship Program at the AICD. She holds no paid management or employee roles in SolarShare Community Energy Ltd.